Womens World Cup: Everything You Need to Know

Womens World Cup

The Womens World Cup is a global soccer event held every four years and is the most prestigious competition in women’s soccer. Every four years, 24 teams worldwide compete for the title of world champions.

Since its inaugural tournament in 1991, the Women’s World Cup has grown to become one of the world’s most watched and highly anticipated sporting events. With the 2019 tournament just around the corner, let’s look at everything you need to know about the Women’s World Cup.

When is the tournament?

The 2021 FIFA Women’s World Cup will last from July 7th to August 7th. This is the 9th edition of the FIFA Womens World Cup, a global competition for women’s national soccer teams organized by FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association).

The tournament has been held every four years since its inaugural edition in 1991, with the most recent one being hosted in Canada in 2015. This year’s edition will be hosted by Australia and New Zealand, making it the first-ever Women’s World Cup to be hosted by two countries.

How many teams are playing?

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is the largest international women’s football competition, and 24 teams will be participating this year. The tournament will feature 7 groups of four teams each, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the knockout stage.

Each team will play at least three matches before the single-elimination tournament begins. From there, it’s a race to the finish as each team competes for a chance to be crowned the Women’s World Cup champion.

Where is it being held?

The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup is in France, the host country. Nine cities across the country will be hosting matches, including Paris, Reims, Valenciennes, Rennes, Le Havre, Grenoble, Montpellier, Nice, and Lyon. The tournament kicked off on June 7th and will run until July 7th, when the champions will be crowned at the Parc Olympique Lyonnais in Lyon.

Who are the defending champions?

The defending champions of the Womens World Cup are the United States, who won the 2019 tournament in France. The US team has also been victorious at three of the previous seven tournaments, having won the cup in 1991, 1999, and 2015. The US team will be looking to make it four wins this summer when they compete for the 2021 Women’s World Cup trophy.

What are the rules?

The governing body, FIFA, sets the Women’s World Cup rules. All participating teams must comply with the regulations outlined by FIFA. The tournament consists of 24 teams, split into six groups of four. The top two teams from each group then advance to the knockout stage, where 16 teams compete in a single-elimination tournament.

Each match consists of two 45-minute halves with a 15-minute break in between. If a match ends in a draw, extra time and a penalty shootout may determine the winner. The team that reaches the final and is crowned champion of the Women’s World Cup will receive the FIFA Women’s World Cup Trophy.

How can I watch it?

If you want to watch the Womens World Cup, there are several ways to do it. You can follow the tournament on TV, streaming, and social media. The games will be broadcast live on Fox Sports in the US and BBC in the UK, with some coverage available on other networks worldwide. Streaming services like fuboTV, Sling TV, and Hulu + Live TV offer Fox Sports and other broadcasters access.

You can also catch all the action online through the official Women’s World Cup website and app. The website provides comprehensive tournament coverage with live scores, match highlights, team stats, and more. You can also follow the tournament on various social media channels such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to stay updated on all the news related to the Women’s World Cup.


The Women’s World Cup is an amazing event celebrating the talent, strength, and dedication of some of the world’s best female soccer players. It brings together teams from all over the globe to compete for world champions.

The 2019 edition of the tournament promises to be an exciting one, with a lot of new teams and talented players ready to prove their worth. So make sure to keep up to date with all the latest news and developments, and don’t miss out on this incredible event!